About

Taki Rua

NEW ZEALAND'S FOREMOST MĀORI THEATRE COMPANY.

Taki Rua produce, commission and develop theatre with a distinctively Māori voice. We collaborate with the brightest voices in our industry, touring productions both locally and internationally.

 

Since 1983, Taki Rua has been an arts industry leader – a creative rule breaker, continually evolving the definition of Māori theatre. We exist to connect our past and present and ensure Māori voices are heard worldwide.
 

Each year our team develop new works, supporting a range of talent and ensuring Māori theatre remains bold and contemporary. Our productions offer important contributions to New Zealand’s creative discourse, providing insight into the development of our nation.

​​

Born from a traditional culture and adapting to a multicultural world, Taki Rua challenge audiences and artists to celebrate and share stories from our nation. Taki Rua explore the essence and perceptions of our place as the indigenous culture of Aotearoa.

Our Whānau

The Taki Rua whānau all play an important part in keeping the ahikā of Te Haukāinga burning. See contact details below to get in touch with a specific member of our team. We also acknowledge our Kaiwhakahaere Hanga Hōtaka / Production Manager Helena Coulton who is on parental leave.

Kahukura

Chief Executive

Tānemahuta Gray

tanemahuta@takirua.co.nz

Kaiwhakahaere Matua

General Manager

Nathan McKendry

nathan@takirua.co.nz

Pou Tikanga me Mātauranga Māori

Pekaira Jude Rei

pekaira@takirua.co.nz

Kaiwhakarite Administration Manager

Joyce Kupe-Stephens

joyce@takirua.co.nz

Kaiwhakahaere Hanga Hōtaka

Production Manager

Cohen Stephens

cohen@takirua.co.nz

Ringa Āwhina Tāhūhū / Executive Assistant

Ash Moor

ash@takirua.co.nz

Kaiwhakatairanga

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Taylor Terekia

taylor@takirua.co.nz

Kaiwhakahaere Pūtea Funding Manager

Alex Granville

alex@takirua.co.nz

Ngā Kaiurungi / Board Members

Toni Huata

Tama Kirikiri

Simon Garrett

Trish Stevenson

Adrian Wagner

Tolis Papazoglou

Jamie Ferguson

Pearl Sidwell

Roimata Kirikiri

Patrick Hape

CONTACT US

Level One, 274 Taranaki Street, Mount Cook, Wellington 6011

Tel: 04 385 3110 / email info@takirua.co.nz

OPENING HOURS

Monday - Friday: 9 am - 5 pm

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Vimeo Icon